Hi, I’m Jake Cunningham, a London based writer and producer, working in film, audio, print and online content.

I have produced and written non-fiction work exploring cinema for the BBC, Film4, Prime Video and Little White Lies.

I was part of the commissioning team for Channel 4’s Random Acts and worked across over 180 short films.

My writing can be found in Empire Magazine, The I, NME and more.

As a podcast producer, I’ve made shows about the Saw films, House of Gucci, SAS: Who Dares Wins, the FA Cup and the British Independent Film Awards.

I’m the co-creator of the acclaimed, chart-topping podcast Ghibliotheque, which explores the works of Studio Ghibli and more artists working in animation. In 2021 I co-wrote the book adaptation of the show, which has been translated into five languages and is sold worldwide.

As an acquisitions executive I sourced films for the world’s biggest documentary YouTube channel.

I can host panels and events like this one at the British Museum and this one at Latitude Festival. I also do some programming, like this rare screening of an early Robert Zemeckis film on 35mm at the Prince Charles Cinema.

Last year I wrote and produced the short film Blue Bottle, directed by Jenny Wright, which premiered at the BFI London Film Festival.

In 2019 I was named a Screen Rising Star.

Email me at